Punjab Government raised Murree to the status of district

Chief Minister Punjab Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi on Friday gave in-principal approval to update the status of five tehsils into district including Murree. Following the instruction of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman Imran Khan, the chief minister approved making:

  • Taunsa Sharif
  • Murree
  • Wazirabad
  • Talagang
  • Kot Addu

The senior member of the Rawalpindi Board of Revenue issued the notification for the formation of new districts. This announcement has also started the celebrations led by the political representatives of the districts.

After this move, the race for the appointment of Deputy Commissioners and District Police Officers also started in both districts. Upgradation notifications of 31 government departments in newly formed districts are expected to be released by Monday [October 17, 2022].

Meanwhile, the tehsil headquarters hospitals of the two new districts have been upgraded to district headquarters hospitals. According to the notification, the Murree district will consist of Kotli Sattian and all union councils and villages of the former tehsil.

The initiative has also initiated the establishment of DHQ Hospital, DC Office, DPO Office, District Courts, and 31 other departments along with other education and health facilities. Locations have also been selected for the district headquarters.

Also See: Shahzad Akbar summoned by NAB, asked for assets details

According to the notification, a total of 3600 personnel will manage the said areas. Comprehensive planning and implementation will be ensured to enhance the tourism industry in the region to make various services more public and tourist-friendly.

The Chief Minister said during his address that the resolutions of the people have been placed. In 2005, at an important meeting of Khawaja Shiraz’s MNAs, he announced, “I announced district status to Taunsa. And in 2018, in an important meeting of Hafiz Amar Yasir, Talagang was announced as a district.”

“Thank God, I have given my approval to the new districts of Taunsa and Talgang. The creation of districts for Murree, Wazirabad, and Kot Addu has also been approved and praise be to Allah Almighty for keeping the promise made to the residents of Taunsa, Talagang, Murree, Wazirabad, and Kot Addu.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *