Kolkata Knight Riders Win Third IPL Title with Dominant Victory

The Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won the Indian Premier League (IPL) championship for the year 2024! They beat the Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets in the final game one-sidedly. This is KKR’s 3rd IPL title after their glorious victories in 2012 and 2014!

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) won their third Indian Premier League (IPL) title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad by eight wickets on Sunday. KKR’s bowlers delivered a brilliant performance, bowling out Sunrisers for just 113 runs, the lowest total in an IPL final.

Mitchell Starc, a $2.9 million signing, was the star with figures of 2-14, disrupting Hyderabad’s top order early. Every KKR bowler took a wicket, preventing Hyderabad from launching any significant recovery.

Venkatesh Iyer then led KKR to victory, scoring an unbeaten 52 runs off 26 balls. Rahmanullah Gurbaz supported him with 39 runs off 32 balls, and KKR reached the target in just 10.3 overs, finishing at 114-2.

“It was comprehensive,” said KKR captain Shreyas Iyer. “This is what we demanded from the players, and they stood up. It’s difficult to express the feelings; there is so much to cherish right now. It was a flawless season for us.”

Consistency Well Played!

KKR had a dominant season, finishing on top of the league with nine wins out of 14 games. This victory marks their first title since 2014, adding to their previous wins in 2012 and 2014.

Russell’s performance was praised by Shreyas Iyer, “Russell has got a magic wand. In the majority of the games, he gave us breakthroughs.” Starc praised the team’s collective effort, “We’ve been such a consistent side. We haven’t had one or two people stand out; there have been contributions from everyone.”

Sunil Narine was out early in KKR’s chase, but Venkatesh Iyer and Gurbaz’s aggressive batting in a 91-run stand sealed the win for KKR. Hyderabad, known for their high scores this season, couldn’t compete on the day.

“We were outplayed,” Sunrisers captain Pat Cummins admits. “They didn’t give us anything … they bowled fantastically.”

KKR, owned by Bollywood star Shah Rukh Khan and co-owned by Bollywood actress Juhi Chawla, celebrated another title at the venue where they first won in 2012. The win cements KKR’s status as one of the IPL’s top teams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *