Pakistan Outclass England to Stay Unbeaten in World Championship of Legends

Pakistan defeated England by 79 runs in the tenth match of the World Championship of Legends 2024 at Edgbaston Stadium, Birmingham. This victory marks Pakistan’s fourth consecutive win, keeping them unbeaten in the tournament. They have previously triumphed over Australia, the West Indies, and India.

Pakistan’s bowlers shone as they dismissed England for just 117 runs. England’s captain Kevin Pietersen was sent back early, scoring only 4 runs. Phil Mustard tried to anchor the innings with a 34-run effort but fell as he attempted to speed up the scoring.Yasir Arafat ran out Ian Bell (11), and Shoaib Malik bowled Kevin O’Brien (24).

England’s batting lineup struggled, with wickets falling regularly. Saeed Ajmal was the star bowler for Pakistan, taking three wickets. Abdul Razzaq grabbed two, while Shoaib Malik, Sohail Khan, and Aamer Yamin each claimed one wicket.

Earlier, Pakistan set a challenging total of 196/4 after England asked them to bat first. Despite losing openers Kamran Akmal (11) and Sharjeel Khan (13) early, a solid 121-run partnership between Sohaib Maqsood and Shoaib Malik steadied the innings. Maqsood scored 64 off 44 balls, and Malik contributed 51 off 33 balls. Captain Misbah-ul-Haq, standing in for Younis Khan, added an unbeaten 23 off 14 balls, while Abdul Razzaq finished with an unbeaten 20 off 9 balls.

England’s Stuart Meaker was their standout bowler, taking 2 wickets for 25 runs. Despite his efforts, England could not contain the strong batting performance from Pakistan.

Also Read: Pakistan Outclass India by 68 Runs in World Championship of Legends 2024

With this win, Pakistan tops the points table with 8 points. Australia and India follow with 4 points each, while England holds the fourth position with 2 points. The top four teams will advance to the semi-finals. The World Championship of Legends 2024 matches are being broadcast live on Geo Super.

Playing XIs

England Champions: Kevin Pietersen (c), Phil Mustard (wk), Ian Bell, Owais Shah, Kevin O’Brien, Ali Brown, Usman Afzaal, Darren Maddy, Stuart Meaker, Chris Schofield, Ryan Jay Sidebottom.

Pakistan Champions: Kamran Akmal (wk), Sharjeel Khan, Sohaib Maqsood, Shoaib Malik, Misbah-ul-Haq (c), Aamer Yamin, Abdul Razzaq, Sohail Tanvir, Sohail Khan, Wahab Riaz, Yasir Arafat.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *