Lahore Qalandars makes a record in the history of PSL

Shaheen Shah proves that his captaincy is top-notch after snatching victory from Multan in a nerve-wracking PSL finale. Lahore Qalandars are the only team who managed to defend its title with pride and grace. Muhammad Rizwan became the highest scorer batsman in the tournament.

In a nerve-wracking Pakistan Super League final (PSL). Lahore Qalandars became the first team to successfully defend their title and take the trophy home Saturday after beating Multan Sultans by one run at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium. Chasing a daunting target of 201 runs. The Sultans came very close to achieving the target but lost by one run.

Also read: Babar Azam the youngest recipient of Sitara-e-Imtiaz

The match saw some exceptional performances. With David Wiese providing a crucial breakthrough and Rashid Khan claiming two key wickets to restrict Multan. Shaheen’s final-over heroics and Zaman Khan’s nerveless finish with the bat were also instrumental in Lahore’s victory.

“To reach the final a second time and win again is a great feeling. Credit to the entire team and coaching staff for keeping us comfortable. I think it was tough early on when the momentum was swinging between them and us. But the idea was to fight till the very end, and it paid off. At that time, I felt like I should go to bat and was lucky to get a few in the slot. This win is for all those Pakistani people who seek joy in PSL. They deserved a game like this,” said Shaheen after the match.

Award’s sequence

Imad Wasim gets the all-rounder of the tournament award.

Best fielder of the tournament goes to Kieron Pollard.

Mohammad Rizwan wins the best wicket-keeper of the tournament award (14 dismissals)

Ihsanullah wins the best bowler of the tournament award (22 wickets and a fifer)

Mohammad Rizwan wins the best batter of the tournament award

Ihsanullah bags the player of the tournament award (first bowler to win this award in the history of the PSL)

Emerging player of PSL 8 – Abbas Afridi (Multan Sultans) (23 wickets, economy-rate 9.45)

Spirit of Cricket – Peshawar Zalmi

Umpire of PSL 8 – Alex Wharf

PSL 2023 started with Qalandars defeating Sultans by a run. Ends with same result. Both matches involved Zaman Khan and Khushdil Shah on the last ball!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *